O’Connor: Change in format to make matches interesting

Fiji Rugby Union CEO John O'Connor. Picture: FT FILE

The Fiji Rugby Union has added an exciting format to this year’s provincial games giving all the top eight teams the chance to challenge the prestigious Farebrother trophy.

For the past few years only the top four teams to qualify for the Skipper Cup semi-finals are eligible to contest for the Farebrother Cup and the winner from the B/Division competition.

FRU chief executive officer John O’Connor said they had rearranged the format to make the match exciting.

“The team that holds the Farebrother Trophy will defend the title if they’re playing on their home ground,” he said.

“For example Nadroga faces Suva in the first round and if they win, the next team they face at Lawaqa Park will also be a double-header.

“But if they lose to Suva, the Capital City side will take the Farebrother Trophy to Suva and defend it on their home ground every time they host a team. However they will have to host Nadroga and it will also be a double-header match like the first round.”

O’Connor said the format was done because of COVID19 and it had also made the competition exciting for players and supporters.

Meanwhile the first double-header match between Farebrother Trophy holders Nadroga and Skipper Cup champion Suva will go head to head on July 25 at Lawaqa Park in Sigatoka.

More Stories