Coach McKee names Flying Fijians squad

Some of the Swire Shipping Fijian Latui team members. Mosese Voka (2nd from left) will led the team. Picture: BALJEET SINGH

FIJI Drua and Fijian Latui players Johnny Dyer and Luke Tagi have forced their way into the 50-member Flying Fijians wider training group to prepare for the upcoming Pacific Test Series incorporating the Maori All Blacks and Pacific Nations Cup as well as the Rugby World Cup in Japan later this year.

Head coach John McKee has selected a strong squad which will be trimmed to 38 players who will march into camp on July 1 for their first mission against the Maori All Blacks at home on July 13.

The duo joins local squad members such as Frank Lomani, Serupepeli Vularika, Eroni Mawi, Mesulame Dolokoto, Joeli Veitayaki, Tuvere Veremalua and forward Mosese Voka who have been training with the Fiji Rugby Academy since January.

“Certainly there are very good local players who are challenging for positions in the Rugby World Cup team,” McKee said.

“It is also an important time for them as they are currently part of the Swire Shipping Fijian Latui.”

McKee also commended the inclusion of European-based players such as Viliame Mata, Alivereti Veitokani and Albert Tuisue.

With so many of his players in good form, McKee said he was eager to get into series preparations.

“Players have been slowly filtering back on to the island. I expect by the second week of June, nearly all the players will be back with the exception of any France-based players whose teams progress into finals.

“I am really looking forward to getting into camp from July 1. We have a lot of work to do between our assembly and our first game against Australia in the Rugby World Cup”.


Front row: Leeroy Atalifo, Mesulame Dolokoto, Sunia Koto, Campese Ma’afu, Sam Matavesi, Eroni Mawi, Peni Ravai, Manasa Saulo, Luke Tagi, Kalivati Tawake, Joeli Veitayaki, Tuvere Veremalua.

Back row: Tevita Cavubati, Johnny Dyer, Semi Kunatani, Temo Mayanavanua, Viliame Mata, Sikeli Nabou, Leone Nakarawa, Nemani Nagusa, Jale Railala, Api Ratuniyarawa, Tevita Ratuva, Albert Tuisue, Mosese Voka, Dominiko Waqaniburotu, Peceli Yato.

Halfbacks: Frank Lomani, Nikola Matawalu, Peni Matawalu, Henry Senioli, Serupepeli Vularika.

Inside backs: Lepani Botia, Sevanaia Galala, Josh Matavesi, Alivereti Veitokani, Jale Vatubua, Ben Volavola.

Outside backs: Vereniki Goneva, Benito Masilevu, Kini Murimurivalu, Filipo Nakosi, Apisai Naqalevu, Waisea Nayacalevu, Patrick Osbourne, Semi Radradra, Eroni Sau, Metuisela Talebula, Josua Tuisova, Setareki Tuicuvu.

More Stories