2018 General Election: FEO reminds voters of pre-poll rules

Electoral Commission chairperson Suresh Chandra showing the map at the Fijian Elections office today. Picture: JONA KONATACI

THE Fijian Elections Office (FEO) will not return to any venue where pre-poll has already been conducted.

This was highlighted by Electoral Commission chairperson Suresh Chandra at a press conference with the media today.

And with the opening of the pre-poll voting from next Monday, Mr Chandra said pre-poll voters who did not vote at the polling place on the time allocated would not be allowed to vote.

“I would like to encourage everyone who hears this notices to advise their friends, families, relatives in their respective places of the times of pre-polling to allow every voter to vote,” he said.

Mr Chandra said the pre-poll venue with the most number of voters was the Queen Elizabeth Barracks in the Central Division in Suva where 1438 voters would cast their vote at three stations.

He said the venue with the second highest number of voters was Tabwewa Community Hall located on Rabi Island in the Northern Division. At this venue, 651 voters will cast their vote at two stations.

Mr Chandra said Sabata Community Hall in Navua, which falls under the Central Division, has the least number with 14 voters.

More Stories